Chinese-Forums

A Cautionary Tale: Chinese as a Hobby

abcdefg

This forum has been very helpful to me and I’ve learned a lot about how I might have tackled this language learning project better. Thought I’d share for the sake of others who are not on an academic track and mainly studying Chinese as a hobby.

When I first visited China about 3 years ago I had been exploring East Asia simply because I enjoy foreign travel. In the US I’m a physician who works about six months a year in hospital-based Emergency Medicine, mainly taking care of serious stuff like motor vehicle accidents, heart attacks and the other things you might have seen on TV shows. The rest of the year I travel and unwind. My job pays well and I’m divorced, so it’s relatively easy to take time off as long as I schedule in advance and do it in blocks of only a few months at a time.

I instantly fell in love with China as a travel destination and decided to learn a little of the language to make it easier to get around. Started with a one-month, absolute-beginner course in Beijing. That was fun and I was exhilarated to find that a little language went a long way. Later in the year I came back to China and did similar month at a school in Shanghai. I wanted to move around to get the feel of living in different places. Later I returned for two months in Zhuhai where I started transitioning from Pinyin to Hanzi.