Chinese-Forums

请问 please help me choose my 中文名字

Pascal Ma

大家好!

I've been a student of chinese for two trimesters now, and I am planning to go to 北京语言大学 next year if all goes well. Anyway, I always meant to get myself a chinese name at some point. But now in one admission form, they ask for it, so apparently, the time is now. :D

My name is Pascal Martel. I chose the surname 马, it fits my french last name and it is one of the most used ones. That was easy!

Now the first name is trickier. I would rather have something meaningful than phonetically close. If the phonetics vaguely match, even better...

Pascal is from the hebrew for "passover" so something along the lines of a passenger, traveler. Since I love to travel, great! Maybe something with 征?

Since I am from the province of Quebec (魁北克) in Canada, maybe something with 北 or 白 (as in the snow). I also liked the name Lui Bei from 三国演义, so 备.

I have also always liked the character 长.

The character 彬 is nice too and I like the meaning (cultivated).

It would help me a lot if you could validate, like are the characters appropriate for a name, would it sound weird, is there a negative connotation, a weird homophone maybe? Can one borrow from Lui Bei's name? :help

So here are some names I taught, can you help me with them?

马白长

马北长

马北征

马备征

马备长

马彬征

Or some other combinations with maybe more suitable characters...

I try to have the second one start with a "b" or a "p", the third one with a "ch", "zh", "c", "z", "x", "sh", "s", "r", "q", "j"