Chinese-Forums

CSC Scholarship Interview tips/advice.

kongli

Hello Everyone,

Before berating me for using the search function and not looking at the already established CSC threads please read my inquiry.

I have read the threads and applied through the China Center, an intermediate institution which selects two candidates from my university to forward on to the CSC organization.

I submitted my application last week and have subsequently been called back for an interview. This will be my first scholarship interview so I am pretty nervous. Does anyone have any helpful tips or advice for such an interview?

To give a little background I have previously studied in China for a year, at Nanjing and Kunming respectively. My major is Asian Languages and Literature and I am currently enrolled in advanced reading of modern Chinese.

I plan to try and convince the scholarship committee that having already been in China, i am a strong candidate because I know how to navigate and function well in China. That my previous year abroad has prepared me to take classes with Chinese people, so that I can better understand their culture from their point of view. That in this way I would be able to, in some capacity, serve as an intermediary between China and the U.S.

So yea thats my rough outline, any advice appreciated. thanks!

Kongli

I don't know if that is your main point - on my accepted application for my study plan I just loaded it with praise of China, playing into all the government sponsored propaganda that the education offices, the Han Ban in general and the Confucius institutes in particular promote. In truth, the reason for the scholarship is so that Chinese universities rank higher, as international diversity is factored into the ranking system, and has little to do with how good you are. I think they are probably just looking for somebody who will go to class, do the work, and not be committing any crimes.