Chinese-Forums

How many new words per day?

Address7

Is there any perceived wisdom on what an appropriate number of new words is to memorize each day?

I've been studying Chinese on and off for several years, but I'm still at a very basic level. (About 600 characters, if that's any indication.) For the past two months I've been working with several learning sources, plus Anki to memorize the vocabulary.

Anki's default setting introduces 20 new cards per day. (That's actually only 10 new words per day, if you do both English-to-Chinese and Chinese-to-English.) What I do right now is feed new words (and sometimes phrases) into Anki as I come across them. In practice, that means that I usually add about 50 new words at a time into Anki, start learning them over the next few days, and then go a few days without new words before adding a new batch.

So far it's working pretty well, but I'm wondering if 10 words per day is too fast -- if I'd be able to memorize them more quickly if I added fewer new ones per day. Or, conversely, if it would be possible to add a higher number, and still retain everything.

I also don't know whether it is a waste to have gaps of a few days at a time without learning new words, or whether taking short breaks like that helps consolidate the learned words.

What do other Chinese learners do? And is there any consensus on what a good number of words per day would be?

If you're using an SRS program like Anki, simply monitor how much load you have each day and how many older words you are forgetting. If reviewing becomes a chore (because you have 200 cards scheduled each day), then it's a good time to take a break from new cards and concentrate on reviewing the old ones. If you have very few cards to review each day, and they are easy, it's time to add new ones.

Remember -- if it's fun, you learn better. If flashcards become something you hate doing, you will not memorise things well. Adjust your load accordingly.