Chinese-Forums

Renweing residence permit - and passport later

joshuawbb

Hello again,

This isn't an immediate or urgent situation at all, but one that's got me a little confused. At the moment I'm studying my second semester in Xiamen University, and will also continue the next autumn term this September, presumably for another year. I have paid tuition fees for this initial year and have yet to apply for the coming semesters. My residence permit expires this September 20th, so I presume I have comfortable time between now and June to apply for my next semester/year, and and whatever time is needed to renew my residence permit. Am I right in saying that the renewal procedure consists of paying new tuition fees, filling out and receiving all relevant documents from the university, bringing said stuff to the PSB and paying a fee for permit renewal? Then after that, I presume I have my new permit and green light to go through the next year of study?

My passport will expire in September 2011, which is a fairly long time away but means a passport change is down the line. Hopefully that shouldn't be too complicated but I have a few questions:

-Will I be required to change my residence permit immediately after registering for my new classes? I'm uncertain whether my permit is only connected to my general study in Xiamen, or if my permit is strictly connected to my first year of study, and should be changed when a new year starts, as applying for my next semester will require new documents.

-If I got a new permit and it was valid say until September 2011 (as my current one is valid until September this year), what time do you think is best to change my passport? I was thinking sometime next spring or summer. If I have a current valid permit in my old passport, can residence permits be simply transferred by the PSB, or does a whole new X visa and permit procedure need to take place?