Chinese-Forums

Wuyou?

Nina

Take a look ->

http://humanum.arts.cuhk.edu.hk/cgi-bin/agrep-lindict?query=%B5L&category=wholerecord&boo=or&order=all

120. 無有 [wu2you3], v.t., do not have.

It seems to be a term quite commonly used in buddhist scriptures.

I guess as a noun, it may be translated into nothingness, or the void.

Thanks for the differing opinons. Now I don't know what to think!

A whole philosophy has arisen around that term in Daoism, but they translate it as "non-being" or "non-existence". The idea of striving for non-existence sounds like a departure from this world - death. Or maybe being in a coma.

The two characters Wu and You appear in the Dao De Jing in that order, but I think it was the later esoterics who tried to make it into a concept. I see them as two separate characters.

-Nina

Thank you, Quest.

Yes, I've been studying the Dao De Jing for many years. I'm also studying the etymology of all the Chinese characters used in that precious little book. The ancient meanings of the characters can be quite different from the modern ones, so it's been an enjoyable and exhilirating journey.

---Whether or not "most" Chinese understand it or not. :-)

Thanks to all of you here who have been providing such wonderful insights.

-Nina

Hi Yau-

You went to a Taoist school? How fascinating! I see by your profile that you're in Hong Kong? I've heard that in mainland China they teach Taoism, Buddhism and Confucianism together. Was your school Daojia (I think that's the right term) - religious Taoism? Can you please tell me more about it?

I've studied lots of ancient Chinese philosophies/religions, but mostly centered on pre-300BCE China. Laozi, Zhuangzi, Confucius, Mencius, Mozi, etc. For the last couple of years I've working on the Dao De Jing. The English translations seem to be woefully lacking and very one-sided, so I'm researching the more ancient texts found in Mawangdui and Guodian - in Chinese.