Chinese-Forums

Confusing Sentence Structure

dr. Hannibal Lecter

dr. Hannibal Lecter

Hi everyone!

I've been learning Chinese language for several months now. I'm doing this on my own as a hobby, "for fun" so to speak, although I'm hoping it will become useful sometime in the future. I'm using primarily Livemocha and a book I bought (Colloquial Chinese by Kan Qian). Livemocha is a decent feedback resource for my spoken Chinese, but my written Chinese is often lagging.. I need grammar explanations like there's no freakin' tomorrow! :unsure: I hope I've come to the right place :)

My latest lesson on LM included the following sentences which are a bit strange in my head. I hope someone can clarify some of them.

每个人都在跳。 - If 每 and 都 both mean "all" (every/all), why use them both at the same time? Why not just 每个人在跳?

所有的东西都在袋子里。 - The use of 所有的 and -again- 都 is really confusing here. Is it: "All of the things I own are in the bag"? Am I getting this right?

袋子里什么东西都没有。 - 什么东西都 is the part I don't get (which messes up the entire sentence for me). What's the purpose of 什么 here?

那个女孩没有吃的东西了。 - What is the purpose of 了? Is it simply indicating past tense or something else?

桌子上什么也没有。 - Hmm..everything? Why 什么? Why 也? If I understood correctly, it's supposed to mean "There is nothing on the table." Am I right? And if I am, why am I right? :huh: I have the same 也 problem in "汽车里一个人也没有"..

I apologise if these are the most stupid questions you've ever seen, I am an extreme beginner and learning on my own is not always an easy thing to do :wall

• Like 1

I would also suggest you get a book with decent grammar explanations.

As for your questions:

每个人都在跳, 所有的东西都在袋子里。 I think the 都 is used for emphasis and can be omitted (Bing gives about equal number of results for "所有人在" and "所有人都在"). Also note that 所有 in this context does not mean own, but all/every.

袋子里什么东西都没有, 桌子上什么也没有