Chinese-Forums

How I am learning Chinese

website

I am not sure where to put this, but I

just wanted to share my experience on how I am learning Chinese.

I started learning Zhongwen in 1996 when I married my Taiwanese wife. She had no patience teaching me Chinese so I learned very little. I attended two years of Chinese classes at an American college and learned some basic phrases, grammar, speaking, writing, reading, and writing

about greetings, weather, numbers, colors, health, time, food, shopping, etc.

After my divorce, I came to China in 2002 to practice my Chinese and look for a new wife. I have been mostly self-taught. I spent most of my time learning vocabulary and phrases from the locals and my dictionary at first. Most of the phrases I say

are my own construction. For example, "da cuole" is "wrong number", but if I didn't know that, I would say "cuole haoma". My Chinese is like reverse Chinglish. I speak Englese or Chinese

with English grammar. English-speaking Chinese have no trouble understanding me, but non-English

speaking Chinese sometimes do. I haven't spent much

time on tones, reading, writing, or listening, either. I have also spent a year confusing my Chinese by traveling around

Asia learning a bit of Thai and Vietnamese

as well. I have also returned to the USA a few times for extended periods since 2002 and I did not practice Chinese at all while I was away.

Sometimes I tire of studying so I slack off for awhile in China, too. Now I am spending more time learning Chinese on the web and practicing listening and reading by watching Chinese TV. I understand many words, but feel underwhelmed by the flood

of vocabulary even if the speaker speaks slowly. Yesterday I watched a simple game show and all I heard were bits like "Hao mei!", "Hen kerai", "chunzi", "xiexie", and "pixie".

Overall, I think my Chinese level is poor. I can talk about many subjects in Chinese, but my listening skills