Chinese-Forums

Please rate/answer BCLU, Beida, BFSU, etc. on points within

Jizzosh

Hello everyone and thank you for everything I have learned since first visiting this site. I am a second year Chinese student from Las Vegas, NV and I will be travelling to Beijing in Jan. to begin a full year of intensive study. I will have completed 3 semesters before I go, and I want to ensure that I pick the best school for me, and in order to do that I need your help. Many of you have taken classes, visited, or even spent great lengths of time at the schools I am considering. I can look up the prices and practical information, but personal experience is always best.

For the following schools in Beijing, please give your two cents on the topics listed below... even if its brief or biased, it all helps. Beida, BCLU, BFSU, Qinghua, Beijing Normal.

Class size

Quality of materials

Teacher accessibility (in class/out of class)

Teaching method (lecture, dialogue, interaction, etc)

Study expected outside of class (beyond just talking to people)

Emphasis (speaking, listening, reading, writing)

Standard makeup of students (Foreign/Native,M/F)

Any other pros/cons you can think of a current/former student?

Thanks again!

Josh

赖书亚

Studied at BL©U two years ago, can give you some info on that.

Class size: 10-20 people.

Quality of materials: Ok.

Teacher accessibility (in class/out of class): In class accessable enough, out class depended on the teacher, some were very accessable, gave all their phone numbers, or went for dinner with the class, others only taught and that was it.

Teaching method (lecture, dialogue, interaction, etc): Depended on the class and teacher. Some classes had a lot of interacting and making students talk, others just went by the book.

Study expected outside of class (beyond just talking to people): I had class 4 hours a day, and a couple of hours a day studying out of class.