Chinese-Forums

Transitioning (日>中)

牛juice

大家好!I am currently a senior high school student who has been taking running start classes for a while. I have been studying Japanese for three years and I can generally read (汉字) 2000ish characters. I have taken a high school Japanese class then moved to community colleges because of the simple diffciulty. (Sadly CC are not much better.) I started Chinese a few months ago by myself looking into the language and to see if I liked it. I love the language -- I actually prefer it over Japanese.

Because of my weird speech disorder speaking English/Japanese is a bit hard for me but it's non existant in Chinese because of single-syllable system. (I have a meter/pacing problem where sometimes I just rush and speak jibberish 3 times my normal speed...it's quite annoying) but my interest in Chinese is actually not the topic of this thread.

I want to put as much Chinese into my schedule so I can transition into a college with a Chinese/Japanese double major. Chinese characters are not that difficult as I can allready reconise 2000 汉字 stolen from China. In a near community college they offer Chinese 1, 2, and 3 on a quarter system. Based on the Japanese class I took there they will probably be slow. (aAll three levels of Japanese were worth one half a year. XD) I can take only two of those classes so I am planning on skipping the first class. Most of the colleges I have looked into use "New Practical Chinese Reader". I am assuming the community college does as well.