Chinese-Forums

Chinese womens attitude towards dating and proposal

Kiwiguy

I am have just come back from China to meet a woman I have been corresponding for 4 months. I spent 8 days in China. I love her and believe she loves me. Just before I left her sister and husband were asking when we were going to marry. I told them I did not want to make definite plans to marry as it was too soon and she must come and visit me here in New Zealand and see for herself how I live. I also do need to know the marriage is about love not just seeking a better life for her and her son. I do feel she is genuine the gut feeling she is genuine.

A chinese man I know has told me Chinese woman like a definite answer. I did tell her a few times before we met that definite plans for marriage after the first meeting were not in my plan. It was to establish that we did love each and from there take things. She did indicate to me along with her sister and husband that she would like marriage. To me the relationship proper only began when we met and it was apparent there was a physical attraction between us.

I am little worried as I have not heard from her since I have been back but there maybe a good reason for that.

It's possible her family have decided they don't like the idea, and put an end to it. Also, the 'we won't get married immediately' idea probably won't have gone down too well - raises a whole load of 'what if . . .' issues.

Roddy

But this is stupid. I can't see anyone but a desperate fool agreeing to such demands. Marriage is a serious business and involves alot of thought and consideration especially when there are two very different cultures involved. As far as I am concerned this shows more interest in a better life than true love. If she can't accept it I am better off without her. I am looking for true love someone who accept me for who I am not how I can improve her life

If that's the case, yes. But you also said in your initial post that you feel she is genuine.