Chinese-Forums

Using NPCR for self-study

scootermclean

• New Members

I have purchased a copy of NPCR v.1 (with audio) and am looking to start a self study regime of Chinese.

When using this book for self study, are there any things in particular I should keep in mind? How much should I focus on the characters in the early lessons? or should I devote most energy to the sounds and pronunciation?

Can anyone recommend some additional resources that would complement the NPCR book?

Thank you

Hello, I would always recommend studying all three together Characters, pinyin, and speaking. I feel it helps to "weld" it altogether. I am no expert in teaching but I have been learning Chinese for about 20 years now and have tried lots of different methods but all through them I study all 3.

I would recommend Pleco in addition to whatever study method you choose. Great program. Good luck

NPCR is relatively complete, but you will have to concentrate quite a lot on character and vocabulary study. No textbook alone will give you enough practice with characters or enough vocabulary. It's just the way it is. Make sure you go over the vocab often and to review it regularly. But this is a general comment which is always valid, not specific to the early lessons, or specific to NPCR.

In the beginning, you should concentrate on proper pronunciation above all else. If AT ALL possible, get in touch with a Chinese person, and have them pronounce things for you, and correct your pronunciation. You can avoid years of pain if you do it right at the beginning. Watch the DVDs, parrot everything you hear, and get someone to listen or correct. If you can't find a live person (there must be a Chinese student in your area interested in a language exchange!), post your pronunciation samples in the pronunciation forum here, and get people's opinion. Proper pronunciation of Chinese is not difficult. Yet many people get it so horribly wrong that they never fully recover from it.