Chinese-Forums

Best Self-study courses for Absolute Beginners in Cantonese

LusoCanto

Hi all,

I'm a absolute beginner at Cantonese, but I'm really keen on learning. After much researched online i've come to the sad realization that there isn't much available for learning Cantonese. The info-dump resource-type websites are nice... but don't give you much of a definite path for learning...

What I was really hoping to find was some nice, structured lessons and courses that i could follow, starting from the very basics. So far the only thing i could find was Pimsleur's Cantonese Audio course... which was absolutely horrible. Mostly full of "Memorize this sentence and then repeated it like a parrot", with no explanations on grammar or anything else.

Can anyone kindly point me to something better?

Many thanks

If your Mandarin is at an intermediate level, you might want to consider 今日粤语.

The original edition of this textbook (together with the second book, 下册) used to be used by 中山大学 in their 1 year Cantonese course for non-Chinese students.

The first book introduces a lot of common grammar differences and vocab vis-a-vis Mandarin; the second book tends to focus on vocab and Cantonese culture, and is less conversation oriented (which may explain why a new edition doesn't appear to have been published yet).

You might want to post your query at Chinese Cantonese Forums too, where I'm sure you'll be able to get a lot of recommendations.

Just about every Cantonese person understands Mandarin. Since there is so little Cantonese learning material available, how about considering learning Mandarin. You can still find Cantonese videos on youtube.com. If you enjoy listening to sermons, you can to cebc.net to listen to Cantonese/Mandarin sermons.

• Like 2

1. FSI Cantonese

I believe Edelweiss's suggestion is a good one.

http://fsi-language-courses.org/Content.php?page=Cantonese

This course is completely free !