Chinese-Forums

Where should I study?

poofspoon

Hi!

I'm a new poster to the forums, but it's been an invaluable resource in my Mandarin studies. I imagine mine is a common question: where should I go to learn Mandarin? My background is six months of self-study, plus I will be hitting the books hard this coming semester and have basic conversational Mandarin skills by the time I'm ready to go in the fall. I'm planning on doing the 2011-2012 academic year in China, either both semesters in one place or splitting it between two locations. I'm thinking of doing one semester pure language study and the second at a Chinese University taking actual classes in Chinese history, philosophy, etc.

My highest priority is learning the language well, including an area with relatively few Westerners (especially first semester), and primarily speaking standard Mandarin, which limits me to the northeast. Secondary considerations are air quality and weather (warmer=better), but these aren't deal-breakers.

The budget is $20,000 for the whole year, thanks to a scholarship, which seems sufficient for just about any program I can find. So go crazy with any recommendations! Thanks a lot for the advice!

I'm most probably off to the U of Jinan i Shandong in September. Largely because of the free tution/location...its also a bit off the beaten track. But there's also some highly ranked unis in Shandong province if money's no object.

I had fallen in love with the South West University of Finance and Economics in Chengdu- better weather and standard Mandarin. Chengdu also gets high praise from most here.