Chinese-Forums

A Year in Beijing

claus3600

• New Members

Hi All

Apologies in advance for the lengthy post.

I've been learning Mandarin here in London since early 2007 and took GCSE - the standard exam for 16 year olds in the UK - in the summer of 2008 getting an A 'star' and then got an A at A-level last year. The A-level oral consisted of 15 minutes to prepare a 5 minute presentation on an unseen question on one of four general topic areas. I've received the breakdown of the scores and rather surprisingly got 27/30.( I think the American equivalents to an A-level, which are normally 2 year courses, are SATS, AP or ACT. We normally do 3 when we're 18 to get into university)

I'm 39 and of non-Chinese heritage and apart from a 2 week visit to China in September 2009, and weekly one to one tutorials and classes, I've not had any real exposure to a Chinese-speaking environment. I'm therefore really conscious of the limits of my conversation skills. However, I plan to go to Beijing with my partner and 2 daughters (they'll be 4 and 2)in March 2012 for a year, where I hope to rack-up 2000 hours of full-time formal study, focusing on speaking and listening.

I would like to know;

1)how much progress in terms of speaking and listening can I realistically expect to make in a year of full-time study in China? What sort of conversational proficiency will I be able to gain?

2)Whilst I'm in London, can I really improve my listening skills by watching hours and hours of Chinese language TV? I got into the habit of watching the dramas on Phoenix TV with the simplified character substitles - being able to follow what was going on felt truly awesome - however, without the Chinese subtitles, I don't think I would have been able to understand much. Is simply listening to real Chinese -without English or Chinese subtitles -enough to improve listening skills? If so, what sort of quantity of time are we talking about?