Chinese-Forums

Hong Kong

Guest mark

Apologies if this has been addressed before, but to what extent do people in HK understand Mandarin? My guess would be young people understand and speak it quite well, but less so for older folks. How about in Guangdong? (I am just starting to learn Mandarin, but may be visiting HK and Guandong next April and was wondering what chance I am going to have to "get my feet wet" in Mandarin.)

Thanks.

-- Mark

I have personally never been to Hong Kong but I've visited Hong Kong's neighbor city Shenzhen and Guangzhou, the capital of Guangdong province. I got around perfectly fine in both Shenzhen and Guangzhou. However, most locals, generally older folks, prefer to speak Cantonese to each other because they feel more comfortable. But if you approach them with Mandarin, they will respond in Mandarin. Although everyone I encountered were friendly, but when I threw out a few Cantonese words and phrases that I knew, they were especially friendly to me :-)

In mainland China education is in in Mandarin, but I don't think in HK. What's your info, Tsunku? Is Mandarin taught as a subject rather than a medium of education? The medium used to often be English, I think, but I'm sure that's changed now.

My experience in HK is that in touristy places people speak English; cab drivers and people out in the sticks are better at Mandarin. Of course the touristy people may know good Mandarin, but wouldn't expect to speak it to me because I'm white.

If all else fails, you can get some mileage out of writing things down.

To be honest, I doubt that a newcomer to Mandarin would have much opportunity to practise it in HK, if that's what Mark's thinking. It would be like going to Spain to practise your beginner's Italian!