Chinese-Forums

Starting Job: University or Midde/High School?

ToodlesFroodles

To give you a little history, I have no experience in teaching a formal class, except for just a few informal lessons that I gave people when I worked in Japan (non-teaching job), but nothing too serious. I'm sort of leaning towards wanting to apply to Universities, but I'm not sure what I'm in for. As someone who has no experience in teaching English, can I catch up or train myself in a short amount of time to be able to answer advanced grammar questions and everything else to the quality that they are accustomed to?

If it matters, I'm 22 and getting my BA this June. I wouldn't mind teaching middle school age kids, but a part of me thinks that University students would be a lot more interesting and challenging. But I just want an idea of what to expect at first and if it isn't far-fetched to walk in cold (with a few months of prep) and learn as I go.

It's teaching English in China - you'd very likely be an 'oral English' component of an hour or two a week to supplement their 'real' English teaching. You wouldn't give any exams, and if you did you'd be expected to pass everyone.

It depends who, what and where you are teaching. I doubt anyone gets near English majors at Renmin University without some impressive qualifications, but if you're an additional bit of English practice for engineering students at Gansu Plumbing University, they'll take what they can get - or what the local authorities will let them get away with.

• Like 1