Chinese-Forums

Translation of NPCR sentences

Ludens

I'm studying Chinese by working through the NPCR series on my own, and am now (textbook 2) starting to have trouble with the translation of some sentences:

1. 一会儿那位先生就给你借书证了。

2. 我们上楼去,先把借书证办了。

My best try:

1. "In a little while that sir will give you a library card."(But shouldn't 就 be translated somehow, and isn't 了 indicating past tense?)

2. "We'll go upstairs, to first get the library card done."

Any help would be appreciated. I'm new here and not sure if this (sub-)forum is the right place for these kind of questions. If it's not, I'm sorry, if it is, I'll probably have more questions.

Thanks!

• Like 1

1. 一会儿那位先生就给你借书证了。

The 了 here indicates a change in circumstance ("sentence-final 了"). You didn't have a library card before, but, in a while, you will have gotten one.

2. 我们上楼去,先把借书证办了。

The second clause is more like "but first, the library card needs to be registered [before we go upstairs]." I interpret the 了 here to indicate an action that has to be done first before a second action can be done.

I'm still learning Chinese myself, but this is what I perceive these sentences to mean :)

1. "In a little while that sir will give you a library card."(But shouldn't 就 be translated somehow, and isn't 了 indicating past tense?)

In this usage, the 就 is acting to tell of an imminent future action, working with the 了 to indicate that someting will soon happen. So, no, not the past-tense usage here. Think of the use of 快...了 in this sentence: 火车快来到了! The train is about to arrive! The 就、了 is doing a similar thing.

"The second clause is more like "but first, the library card needs to be registered [before we go upstairs]." I interpret the 了 here to indicate an action that has to be done first before a second action can be done."