Chinese-Forums

"I am busy" Rude or typical in China

YinKeCheng

• New Members

So. I message this girl and half time I get "back I am busy", or "can't talk now". But I notice a minute later that my roommate about 65% of the time (Chinese guy, the girl is also Chinese, I am a French exchange student) is qq'ing with her (typing back and fourth a lot and sometimes even voicing). But they don't talk about anything important most of the time just joking things.

I basically assume that she just doesn't like to talk to me, but I am just wondering it that is something common amongst Chinese. Like, she knows I am in the room with him and that I can turn around and see his screen, so it seems kinda rude to me, that she would just lie that like... I am wondering, is something that considered rude or is it a common thing among Chinese? I know in France people don't do that, but what about China?

Thanks! (We are all 20) (Also, I always get "wow your English is impressive"... My dad is an America, mom is French, so I've been learning English since i was 2 and did throughout high school; I even spent 2 years as an exchange in America for my last 2 years of high school)

You can reply in English, French or Chinese...

My impression is that she didn’t mean to be rude though she did appear kind of rude to you (and me as well). This is, perhaps, because she couldn’t come up with a better excuse.

The expression “I am busy” is often used as an excuse to avoid somebody or something.

PS: This is not typical of all Chinese because any thoughtful man would never do that.

I agree with imron. She is indeed busy chatting with your roommate. I think it is either (a) the roommate is more important than you; OR (b ) you two are of equal (un)importance and she just chats with the one who has started chatting with her first.