Chinese-Forums

Finding work in China - where do I begin?

maxham

Hi everyone

I studied Mandarin at university and spent two periods living in China (the first time for about 3 months and the second time for a year). It's now about 2 and a half years since I left and I'm planning to return early next year to settle for a couple of years. My plan is to study intensively for a while and then begin to look for work. I have a strong background in administration and have worked in two major international investment banks, an well-known insurance firm and a communications consultancy. I'm now quite interested in moving into something a little more fulfilling to me personally - a charity perhaps, an embassy or an organisation where I can at least see that my efforts are towards something of value (rather than just lining pockets).

I'm just at a bit of a loss as to where to begin. Does anyone know of any useful websites which post jobs? Are there any employment agencies in China? What sort of salary could I expect? (I'm a 30 year old graduate and have been in the workforce for a total of about 8 years). I'm Australian and also speak reasonably fluent Spanish.

Any ideas/tips/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

• 3 weeks later...

You can always check out the classifieds at www.thatsbeijing.com, which have a high volume of posting. Another method is to determine what you wan to do and who you want to do it for, and e-mail your resume to them. For instance, if you want to do volunteer work, find out some organizations and write them a letter of introduction, even if they don't have a slot you might be recommended to another company/org through them. I've also met some people who first come here for a few months to brush up their language, and build a network, and then find work.

• 3 weeks later...

have you tried ...

http://www.zhaopin.com/

http://career.sohu.com/