Chinese-Forums

So... I do literary translation for a living now

yersi

Very cool. I read this one last year when it was getting some buzz . It seems like it would be a fun book to translate, but that geo-political lecture towards the end by the government official must have been painful.

If you don't mind me asking, how long does a project like that take?

I wonder if it's a disadvantage to be a native English speaker when it comes to learning foreign languages, in terms of career aspects, as there's so much English-speaking competition. There are too many Chinese-English translators and, like you say, a shortage of Norwegian-Chinese ones. I guess it's harder to find a niche with such a global language.

How familiar are you the source material before beginning to translate? Would you typically read it through (beginning-to-end) first or is it more translate as you go?

How do you deal with concepts that don't translate well across languages (or perhaps more importantly, cultures). Do you just skip/gloss over it, or provide extra information/background.

And finally, seeing as no-one else has asked yet, how did you get into this line of work? :mrgreen:

I wonder if it's a disadvantage to be a native English speaker when it comes to learning foreign languages' date=' in terms of career aspects, as there's so much English-speaking competition. There are too many Chinese-English translators and, like you say, a shortage of Norwegian-Chinese ones. I guess it's harder to find a niche with such a global language. [/quote']

I know exactly what you mean! Being a native English speaker is a bit of a hinderance in this regard. It seems there are so many C > E translators...having my first language be something less commonly known would be great.

@Yesl:

I would be interested to know, how you came into this line of work? Do you have any special qualifications that helped you land those jobs?

• Like 1