Chinese-Forums

Words Chinese people think are English (eg. High, Fighting, PK)

AlexBlackman

Hi

I'm a student of Chinese and I've noticed that some Taiwan/Chinese people use words that they think are English but aren't really used that way in English. Sometimes they even force these words into English sentences.

For example,

The word "high" is used in Chinese to express happiness (高興), whereas, as you probably know, if you use it in English, people will think you are talking about drugs.

Another example is the use of the word "Fighting" to encourage people (加油) and PK to talk about a head-to-head [elimination] competition.

People on another forum suggested AV being used for 毛片儿 instead of audio-visual, 很Man,used for 很有男人味儿, 3C for electronic goods, marathon for any kind of race, toast for bread untoasted or toasted.

Can you give me any more?

• Like 1

AV being used for 毛片儿 instead of audio-visual,

AV is probably adult video rather than audio-visual

Regarding other words though, my pet peeves are how wine is used to refer to all types of alcohol, and orange is used to refer to mandarins/tangerines.

I always remember the staff and students at the kindergarten I worked at saying 'haw' instead of 'hawberry'. I used to tell them to say 'hawberry', but didn't dare explain why. It got really funny when we had a cookery class: 'Wash the haw', 'sprinkle sugar on the haw'.

I also knew a guy who seemed to have got 'pretty' the adjective and 'pretty' the adverb mixed up, so he would just say "That's pretty" to describe things in general, e.g. Me: "I'm going to the park today." Him: "Oh, that's pretty."

Regarding other words though, my pet peeves are how wine is used to refer to all types of alcohol, and orange is used to refer to mandarins/tangerines.

Poor vocabulary, just like how people use 个 as the measure word when they do not know the most appropriate one. But I am fine with it.

• Like 1