Chinese-Forums

Experts' help needed: translation (please)

keetaec

Hello Expert!

Would you be able to help me out with translating this sentence:

医疗中心要为南至南非、北临北冰洋、西达英国、东至阿富汗如此广大范围内的30万美军提供治疗救助。

It's an extract from an article about US Medical Center in Germany. I can't seem to connect the name places with 'real' words.

Any help would be appreciated.

confused,

keetaec

Consider ->

"The medical centre has to provide medical support to 300,000 American soldiers in a vast area reaching South Africa in the south, the Arctic Ocean in the North, the UK in the West and Afganistan in the East."

I am no professional in translation, though.

Can you help me out with this one as well... :)

I don't understand what "科尔"号军舰遇袭 means in the following sentence.

Again, it's about the same medical center helping out the US troops.

美军从营救伊朗人质、海湾战争、到“科尔”号军舰遇袭、海湾战争、伊拉克战争,每次军事行动中都少不了医疗中心的参与.

thank you in advance.

keetaec

p.s. other suggestions are always welcome

“科尔”号军舰

科尔 is a phentic transcripts of foreign name (Coal). The quote marks signal this, but the giveaway is the 号, which indicates a number or one in a series. So this means "Battleship Coal".

不了少 looks like a typo. It should be: 少不了 ("to be unable to reduce" or "to need")

My attempt at the whole sentence:

"In every case, from the Iranian hostage crisis, to the Persian Gulf War, the bombing of the USS Coal, the Persian Gulf War, and the Iraqi War, the US Army has needed the involvement of the medical center."

Strange that they repeat 海湾战争 (Gulf War) twice and also mention the 伊拉克战争 (Iraq War). Not sure if these are supposed to be three different conflicts or if the translation is just sketchy.

Great Help! Thank you very much.

I'm still struggling with the article - would you be able to suggest a translation for this:

这家医院究竟有什么独特之处呢。位置得天独厚、声誉传遍欧洲.

Is the first sentence a question, since it has 'ne' at the end? (And the reputation refers to the location, correct?)