Chinese-Forums

Questions about studying in Beijing/China

Kike

Hey Chinese-forums!

This is my first post here, and hopefully it's now a wasted post (repeating old questions).

I've been following this forum for a while now, trying to dig up as much info as I can, but I think it would be overall more helpful and fun to just ask questions directly!

Perhaps I'm a little early with this, but I have been seriously been considering the idea of doing my masters in Beijing/Xiamen in 2012. Right now I'm a bachelor student in the Netherlands, studying cultural anthropology and development studies. I hope to do my masters in International Relations, or atleast something a little more politics based.

I saw that Tsinghua University, Peking University and Xiamen university were offering English master courses in that area (I only know 300 Chinese characters, lol), but I also read that those universities are the highest ranked in China. So my question is, and what I really can't seem to find answers to, is if there is any chance to actually get into those three schools?

My grades are ok here in the Netherlands. I think if you were to convert my grade average to American standards I would be somwhere round a 3,7-3,8 GPA, which I'm guessing is okay. But I'm wondering if that is enough for Tsinghua or Peking standards (or as I mentioned, I am interested in Xiamen university too).

Another question is whether it is actually worth getting a diploma in China, were I to be accepted to any of these unis. I'm not sure if these master diplomas will be recognized here in Europe... if they are recognized academically anywhere for that matter.

Third question... would I want to stay in China for longer, would there be any career options for me? I realize that Mandarin is a very difficult language, but I am doing my best to learn a bit in my spare time. So would there be any hope for me in having a career that is China based/China oriented?