Chinese-Forums

HSK 4 (panicking!)

jimmy_p

So I'm taking the HSK 4 this Sunday in Suzhou, Jiangsu Province.

I've been studying about 3 hours a day for about 4 months and the date is finally close enough to touch.

I have all the practice materials and have saved 2 mock tests for this, the last week, from the BeiDa book. I took one of the mock tests today under 'test conditions' (albeit in Starbucks) and did pretty well but I'm panicking about new words and such.

I know the word list pretty much inside out but it seems like every mock test I've taken they throw in at least 40 new words to confuse you. I'm worried the real test is going to throw up a lot of new vocab and screw up my score.

Has anyone had a similar experience with the HSK (especially level 4)? How did it affect your test?

Also does your mark appear on the certificate? I mean the 'X out of 300' mark, I'm fairly sure I'll pass but it won't be a spectacular one!

Many thanks from a first-time poster, long-time lurker!

Jimmy_P

How was the test?

I took New HSK Level 4 last autumn and passed quite easily. I got 249/300 points and this is made clear in the certificate as well.

I went through the 1200-word vocabulary list before taking the exam, and at the time I was familiar with ~90 % of the words. In the test I found no surprises, I think the test was pretty much constructed on the basis of the vocabulary offered. The level of difficulty was similar to that of the mock-tests I found online, only that I ran out of time more quickly.

• Like 1

It went pretty well, I'm fairly confident I passed but not sure how well, probably not well at all considering how unclear the listening was.

No massive vocab surprises, happily, and I had plenty of time at the end of the reading and writing sections to review everything so I'm pretty happy.

Are you doing the level 5? I studied for the level 4 by myself and I've concluded I'll definitely need a teacher for the next level, much too hard to do alone!