Chinese-Forums

Grammar questions on sentence structure. Please help.

Ness

Hey there. Grammar has always been my biggest issue with learning Chinese. I feel like I know how to practice the tones and vocab, but when it comes to the rules of grammar I usually get confused. Even my own language English, I'm not certain how the grammar works. I just know I can speak it well because it was the language I grew up with. That being said I really want to try and comprehend the grammar structures within Chinese. I feel like if I can get that, I can really build more confidence in my learning experiences. That being said, I want to start with the basics. I've been learning Chinese for a few months, but I still have problems understanding just basic structure with Chinese sentences. I know a subject usually comes first. My teacher put for this formula to try and remember:

Subject - Adverb - Verb - Adjective + Object - Particle

Now there are obviously things that need to be plugged in during certain scenarios, but I was curious if you folks know of any other methods that might just be as useful? Unfortunately my class is over now and I'm on my own. Oh and just to let you know try to explain this to me like I'm a 4 year old. I'm really bad when it comes to terminology like "predicate" or "adverb". The only ones I really understand most of the time are noun, pronoun, adjective, and verb. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks a bunch.

Oh and if anyone knows any exercises/websites I can maybe practice trying to comprehend the grammar I'd be entirely grateful. Thanks.

• Like 2

It sounds like what you need is Basic Chinese: A Grammar and Workbook by Yip and Rimmington. It starts from the very basics, and builds up systematically, with exercises at the end of each chapter (and answers at the back) which are essential for checking your understanding. As far as I remember, explanations of grammar do touch upon concepts such as "predicate", but generally are fairly understandable.