Chinese-Forums

Chinese Supermemo Databases

Konglong

I have been using Supermemo for about 5 years and have lots of Chinese databases. I create them with a spreadsheet and convert them to Supermemo pdbs for download. I categorize my entries by either the chapter of the book that they came from or the topic if I just added a group of words with the same theme. Once I have download the new file and learn it I rename the file to match an existing one, such as "Chinese". The file new file will be merged into the existing one.

The Supermemo conversion file seems to take Chinese characters without any problems, so you should be able to use the IME to enter the characters. After setting up the files in one direction, such as English to Chinese, you will want to copy the list and switch Chinese and English so you have entries going both ways. You also may want three ways, so you are quizzed by English, Pinyin, and the characters.

The only problem is that once they get to the Palm Supermemo tries to resize them according to its built-in font handling and the characters get a bit garbled. If they are unrecognizable I need to view the original card in edit mode, covering up the pinyin and English.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

From Supermemo's FAQ:

* Foreign characters are illegible on hi-res devices?

This is a result of incomplete font installation. You need to install both hi-res (320x320) and low-res (160x160) fonts.

If you use SuperMemo to learn a language with non-English characters (e.g. Japanese, Chinese, Korean) then you need some 3rd party font tool to be able to display these characters. Often there is an option to install hi-res fonts, low-res fonts or both. As SuperMemo uses hi-res fonts in all screens except the Card View and low-res fonts in the Card View, you need to install both low-res and hi-res fonts, otherwise the Card View will be left with no font to use and will try to use scaled-down hi-res font which will often look illegible.