Chinese-Forums

Online shop for native Chinese books for beginners/intermediates in North America

phyrex

Hey guys,

I recently launched an online shop in which you can buy real native Chinese media (books, with movies in the near future), categorized by difficulty level.

The (very) short history of that is that I started learning Chinese a couple of years ago and have a major aversion against classroom-learning and textbooks, so that was (for these and other reasons) no way for me. I had learned both my native language and later English by reading and watching movies so I figured I'd do the same again with Chinese. However, I had problems finding stuff that was appropriate for my level, which made progressing more difficult than it had to be. Now it's a couple of years later and I'm in the position to open a store like the one I always wanted.

So if you're interested in real Chinese media but you're facing the same problem and you find it really hard to find something at your level (between "I only know a couple of words" and "I'm already pretty good but it's not like I can take any novel and have fun with it"), have a look at the store. The address is: www.forlearnersmedia.ca . There is all sorts of (imho) interesting stuff there, so even if you don't buy anything, have a look! There’s nothing to lose and lots to gain :)

Thanks,

Max

(Dear mods: As I mentioned in the other post, this is an advertisement, and I hope that's okay - it's for something I really believe in. If you're not okay with leaving it like this, please contact me so we can work something out! Thanks!)

It's a good idea, but when I visited the site, elementary and intermediate sections only had childrens' books. I was hoping for material aimed at adult elementary and intermediate learners, along the lines of "Chinese Breeze."

I like the concept, and hope that the selection of media evolves over time. "Kami Wets Herself" is not my notion of a good read.

Hi abcdefg,