Chinese-Forums

Traveling in China alone

Snowy

I am a newbie here.. hi everyone :D

Just wanna ask your opinion. I am planning to travel to China by myself, but I can't speak Chinese. My advantage is I look Chinese as I have Chinese heritage...

Definitely don't like organised tour as I like to arrange my own time ... uhhmm... so can sleep over till very late :wink: ... and I prefer to choose my own destinations. I mentioned this plan to a friend who visited China recently and he said people might try to take advantage of me along the way becoz of my language limitation, he strongly suggested me to take organised tour :shock:

What do you think?

Thanks in advance for the reply...

I would thoroughly recommend the by yourself option. Going on a tour is the easier option but a little less adventurous. Unless you can find a tour group full of miss world contestants or heavy drinking aintipodeans I would suggest hitting the road alone. Don’t want to be stuck on a tour group full of fat Yankie wrinklies.

When I first started traveling in China I didn’t speak any of the language – I lived in Hong Kong and used to take weekend trips by myself, Guangzhou, guilin, shanghai etc – in the big cities you can get by without speaking any Chinese. I used to just get hold of a map, jump in a taxi and point to where I wanted to go on the map – pretty easy. Eating gets a little tricky sometimes though but the best thing to do is find a restaurant with pictures, or point to what other people are eating and ask for the same.

Further afield, if you step off the beaten track it does get a little troublesome if you have no language skills. I traveled from Ka shi in xin jiang all the way overland back to Shanghai a few years ago, but this was after a year studying the language. Absolutely amazing trip – made a lot easier by being able to speak Chinese.