Chinese-Forums

Vocabulary lists

Confucius17

Hi everybody!

I have been learning Chinese for 5 months, gathering all the information I could from the internet and chinese books. Being fluent in French and in English, it was fairly easy to assemble several learning books (What character is that? - Pocket Oxford Chinese dictionary - English Pinyin dictionary - 40 lecons pour parler Chinois). The one problem is, even with three dictionaries I can't feel sure if I am using the correct translation. For each word, there is at least three possible translation, with characters in brackets, all over the place! :wall So I was wondering if anyone knows of a vocabulary list on internet, where there is a clear layout for the simplified and traditionnal characters, pinyin and english translation?

I am really passionate about the Chinese language, and seize every opportunity to talk to Chinese people. If anyone is interested in helping someone learning Chinese :lol: please feel free to do so! 我是乐观的!

For each word, there is at least three possible translation, with characters in brackets, all over the place!

Any dictionary worth it's salt should have examples using the word in question, so that you can be absolutely sure of which one to use. It should also list expressions using this word. Are you talking about translating from Chinese to English or English to Chinese? Anyhow, just try sitting down and reading the first part of your dictionary where they explain the format and what all the abbreviations mean. It may be boring, but it will help you use your dictionary better in the long run.