Chinese-Forums

use of 个 in a question

maybe

hi, I'm an italian student and I'm studying chinese at university. I've a problem with the use of 个, if I write (in a conversation between A and B):

A:这是一个家? or 这是家?

B:对, 这是我家

A:你家在哪人?

B:它在上海

A:伤害在哪人?

B:上海在中国

it's a simple conversation but I don't know if use 个 or not in first sentence

II I don't know how make this question:

how many chinese people are in milan?

多少在米兰有中国人?

is this the correct way?

thank you soo much, sorry for my bad english (I studied french at school!) and chinese

I don't know whether 家 can be used to mean "a house" when there is no indication of the owner. Also I am not sure of the difference between using 一个 or not in the first question. Someone with more advanced Chinese will need to answer those.

A:这是一个家? or 这是家?

I'm a bit surprised that you don't use 是不是 or 吗 or 吧 in this question...

If your meaning is "is this a house?", I would write 这是不是房子? or 这是不是一个房子?

A:你家在哪人?

Please note 人 is not the same as 儿. 哪人 means "which person".

You probably will need to type "naer" to write 哪儿.

A:伤害在哪人?

Pinyin input methods require you to be careful and read back what you've written :mrgreen:

how many chinese people are in milan?

多少在米兰有中国人?

多少 should take the place of the number.

If you know how to write "there are 5 Chinese people in Milan", just replace 五个 with 多少.

ops sorry, I forget 吗, so I could write:

这是不是一个家? or 这是一个家吗?

and yes, I will need to type 哪儿 in fact I was surprised when I see 哪人 sorry :)

多少 should take the place of the number.

If you know how to write "there are 5 Chinese people in Milan", just replace 五个 with 多少.

so the right sentence is:

米兰有五个中国人。

so the question will be: 在米兰有多少中国人?

right? or not?

thank you so much!

ps. a sentence like "the student called David is my older brother" I translate in:

学生叫大卫是我哥哥

can I?

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but: