Chinese-Forums

Beida grad school, majouring IR. What do you think?

Hyejeong Kim

Hello

I'm studying Chinese in general and will be graduating next year. I'm thinking of going to Beida grad school to read International Relations. Most people said US(Tufts, Columbia...) or UK(LSE, Oxford...) would be better to get a degree. Honestly, I'm agree with them at some point. However, I'm more keen to live/study/interact with Chinese people. So as fas as I concerned, Beida is the best choice I can make.

Although, I want to hear what people think. Any opinions/ideas/advices would be appreciated.

Thanks!

The American and British schools you mentioned seem harder to get into than Beida. You should apply to those schools, in addition to Beida. If you aren't accepted to any US or UK institutions, then go to Beida. You can always move to China after getting a fancy degree in a Western country. And most likely, that fancy Western degree will command a higher starting salary.

• Like 1

Thanks. That was very helpful. You've made your point. Of course I can always move to China after that. Although, I wonder start from China isn't such a good idea. I would like to continue improving my chinese skill before I got any older. lol US or UK institutions are much harder, better, obviously, can get me a fancy degree. But somehow I feel like China is the place where I should start studying IR. I just heard that high ranking Chinese institutions, even Beida or Qinghua, don't guarantee a high quality of education. Have you heard of it?

If you are going to study IR in China, I'd suggest the dual degree program from Johns Hopkins and Nanjing University.

You take your classes in Nanjing and your roommate will be a chinese student. At the same time you come out with both a JHU IR degree along with a NJU IR degree both of which are top 10 in their respective countries.

• Like 2