Chinese-Forums

Cost of living in Nanning

civic94

I am a american born chinese, I want to travel to china, live there for a few years, learn where my parents are from, and the culture.

I want to live in nanning, I want to know about the cost of living there.

1. is it cheaper than zhengzhou, or chongqing? or, is it a expensive city?

2. what is the major industries/businesses there, such as factories, universities, food, etc. I want to know everything about it.

3. is it hard to find a teaching job there (I have a BA degree from america)

my parents are from the guangxi provence, from a village. I know i will get bored really quick if i lived there, on top of that they did not have a house there, so my only option is living in a city that is close to it, which is nanning. I speak cantonese fluently, and know about 20-30% mandarin in normal talking, but i;m trying to learn as much as i can.

• New Members

Nanning is a 2nd or 3rd tier city. It is not along the coast. In general that will make it less expensive than living in Beijing or Shanghai. But the pay also may less also. Seems to have a fair amount of universities. If you want to find some info on Nanning try a couple of things. Google Nanning, Google Youtube and Nanning. Google Flicker and Nanning You can also set up for google alerts on Nanning. That way you will see new stories about Nanning. It might help you get a glimpse of life in Nanning, Have you every been to China? How far away from your parents hometown is Nanning? Any relatives living there now that you can visit? I believe Nanning is been developed as a transportation hub for the surrounding asian countries. There are several forums with ties to Nanning. But they are for western men who have Chinese wives from Nanning. Those sites will give you some insight in living in that area. After following all that googling you should a better idea about that area. Good Luck and have fun. Danb