Chinese-Forums

Travel agencies and tours - Wudaokou/ Haidian area

ningp

Hey guys,

I'm currently studying mandarin for 3 months in Beijing and am looking at doing some travelling during my time here - particularly around Xian, Shanghai and Guilin. I have picked up (or been thrown at, rather) several brochures on travel agencies around the Wudaokou/ Haidian that offer tours around China, specifically catering to foreign students.

A few travel agencies are:

1. ShoDu Travel Agency Overseas Students Companies - located at Huaqing Garden
  2. Beijing Happy Vacation Travek Service - Huanqing Garden
  3. Good Holday International Travel Service - located inside BLCU Conference Centre
  4. SG (CHina Jianghe International Travel Service) - Huaqing commercial building
  5. Beijing Youth Travel Service Co, Ltd - Haishend building

I'm unsure whether I want to go via a tour agency or arrange the trip myself. I don't particularly think the tours are that badly priced and wouldn't mind the convenience of an arranged trip. However, I am not looking for a "hop on the bus, snap photos for 5 mins and back on the bus to the next 10 sites in one day" kind of tour, which I have heard down the grapevine is sometimes the case (not sure which companies these were though).

Does anyone have any experience with any of these tour companies or other good companies they can recommend? Did they include any meals or entrance fees into attractions and an English speaking guide? Good or bad, I'd like to hear!

Many thanks!

Someone told me a saying about Chinese tours: 上車睡覺,下車拍照 (or 上車睡覺,下車尿尿,停車拍照, take your pick :lol: ). The other issue with tours is that they inevitably include a forced stop at some store; personally, I don't want to waste my previous vacation time like that.

After studying for 3 months, I would consider this your "final exam": touring around on your own. I think you will learn a lot more geography, learn some Chinese, and have a much better tour.