Chinese-Forums

A third language

Bob Dylan Thomas

hello everyone,

i admit this is a fairly silly topic but I'm going to post it anyway to try and get my thoughts flowing on this. I've studied Chinese for 3 1/2 years now and I'm fairly happy with the level i've reached, and now I'm considering taking up a third language. What would people recommend? I know a lot depends on my personal preferences, but i'd like to hear other people's experiences in tackling that tricky third language.

i studied French for 5 years at school and got fairly good at it, but I've now forgotten most of it. I've studied very basic Russian but found it extremely difficult, and despite travelling for a while in Russia and the former USSR i never really felt excited by it. It would be nice to find a lnaguage like Chinese that's exciting and fun to take on (yes i know that sounds cheesy but i really have enjoyed studying Chinese since I started, and i still do).

I'll probably try to start here in the UK without formal lessons but through a combination of beginner textbooks and help from native-speaking language partners. Currently on my mind are Thai, Korean, Japanese, Bahasa (Indonesian/Malay), Mongol or a Central Asian language such as Uighur or Kazakh.

You're right, it is based on your personal preference, so it's hard to answer. However, I can tell you I find Japanese to be NOT fun, like Chinese. There are conjugations, which I hate. Then, for the conjugations, you must be able to do it two different ways for formal and informal speech [teacher / friend]. Then, they have all sorts of particles, and impossible grammar rules. The worst part is the conjugation. Also, it shouldn't be hard learning the katakana and hiragana, but it's added stress knowing when to use it on top of the kanji. Aiya!