Chinese-Forums

From Scandinavia to the far East

MagMak

• New Members

Hi!

I am a young professional just finishing up my bachelor in Finance in Norway this spring. To diversify my background, and as a way of postponing my Ms.c, I am planning to go to Harbin and study mandarin. I have been to China several times before, but never Harbin. I have now read a lot of what is being said about the place, and the schools, but I could need some help summing up a few of the points.

1. Many people refer to Harbin as a "tougher" place to study mandarin. Would somebody like to elaborate on that?

2. In the same context I guess, I've heard you would gain from being a "lone wolf". That's fine by me, however, during my stay there, will I run into some native English-speakers? I do not need a lot of foreigners around me (then I would go to Beijing or Shanghai), but in the beginning of my stay it would be nice to perhaps have a chance to speak to some westerners.

3. Harbin is said to be one of the best (if not, the best) place to learn Mandarin, that's why I'm moving. However, what would you say about your insights into the Chinese culture after a year in Harbin?

4. Besides the school, what would you say is the most efficient way to learn the language, live with a native? Work?

All answers are greatly appreciated! If somebody would like to have dinner or perhaps a few drinks with me in september, don't hesitate to let me know.

Best Regards

Magnus

Welcome on the forum!

1-3. I don't know anything about Harbin, others might tell you more about that place. If you chose it because its the coldest part of China, well, the summers are still said to be hot and humid. :wink: