Chinese-Forums

Moderators moving posts around

edelweis

When you moderators merge newbie questions into relevant threads, do you somehow contact the newbie to let them know about it?

I remember as a newbie here, not knowing how to use the tools in my profile, and not knowing about the moderators moving posts around in such an active way on this forum, I had a hard time finding my own threads in the many subforums even though they weren't moved around, I can't imagine finding them if a mod had merged them into another thread.

(and, yes, the newbies should look around, search, and so on, however young people are clueless and need to be coached IMHO.)

There is a way to view all your posts. At the top of the forum there should be a drop down with your username. Click that and select My Content. Then on that page, click Only Posts. Once you can see your posts, you can click on the topics to see all posts in that topic.

Yes, I know that after 3 years on the forum.

My point is, newbies don't :mrgreen:

I'm afraid they'll just think their post never made it through moderation...

Unless perhaps they receive email notifications for the thread their post was merged into?

do you somehow contact the newbie to let them know about it?

Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

It depends a lot on the post. A lot of things like tattoo and name translations get posted in other forums and they typically get moved to Quick Translations without much notification (at least when I move them, and I don't see Roddy being any different in this regard).

Other times if I'm splitting out a new member's post from an existing thread to its own thread, I'll probably drop them a line to let them know, but if it's just moving it from one sub-forum to another I might or might not depending on the post.

Most posters seem to be able to find their posts anyway even without notification, and the ones that don't will send a message to the admins asking where their post went, which resolves the issue.