Chinese-Forums

1-2 week study options, focused on listening/speaking?

markpete

Hi, everyone. I'm looking for suggestions for very short-term Chinese courses.

Basically, I just found out that I may have two weeks of vacation at the beginning of July, and I'm interested in using those two weeks to learn as much Chinese as possible. So, I'm looking for a program that is either one or two weeks and appropriate for my level (basic but not a total beginner-- I've completed the three Pimsleur courses and learned ~500 traditional characters and ~1200 compounds through self-study). I'm most interested in developing speaking and listening skills. I could travel to China or Taiwan and can probably afford most courses as long as they're not outrageously expensive. I've been out of college for a few years now, so bonus points for any program that has adult learners in it.

Ones I've found so far that look promising:

iMandarin Language Training Institute (Beijing) -- they have a three-week course, so I could do the first two weeks of it

Next Step China -- They have an intensive tutoring program that includes 20 hours of tutoring per week.

Beijing Chinese Language School -- another place offering intensive tutoring for 4-6 hours a day.

1on1Mandarin

So three questions:

1) Any thoughts on these particular programs or tips for quickly finding something appropriate?

2) How much could I learn in such a program?

3) If others have done programs like these (or heard about them), have they have been worthwhile? Or is the quality variable enough that this is a risky plan? (The risk being my vacation time and money.)

Thanks!

Mark

Not sure it will be worth it for so short a time. It will take a couple days to get to China and a couple days to get over jet lag and then a day or two to get home at the end. Is there a program in California that might suit your needs without requiring so much travel?