Chinese-Forums

A small rant about listening materials

wushijiao

Here is my question: do you feel that most Mandarin tapes are too standard?

Here is why I ask: currently I am an English teacher in China (God help us!). Most of my brilliant students have a great command of English, but they do have certain weak points. Understanding fast, semi-slurred conversation between native speakers is one of them. For example, in a class of 25 Chinese students, almost all would understand, “what are you going to do this weekend?” But, if pronounced how it is almost always pronounced, “whadayagonnado this weekend?” maybe one or two might understand.

In a similar way, I felt the same way learning Spanish. Almost all the tapes or videos we used were based on a standard Mexican or Madrid accent, which comprises a small percentage of the Spanish speaking world. They were all artificially too clear. “Cansado” is frequently pronounced “cansa’o” (without the d, in Cuba, the Caribbean and many places in South America), but the tapes always used the former. Likewise, when native Spanish speakers slur a few words together, the tapes would artificially separate them based on how they look on the written page.

With Chinese, the situation seems even worse. Of course, for beginners you want to familiarize them with the proper, standard putonghua pronunciation. Yet at more advanced stages, linguistically, a teacher should introduce students to the real spoken language. A good language teacher should also familiarize intermediate and advanced students with a variety of accents. When teaching English (or at least American English), you should teach “wanna” instead of the written form of “want to”. In spoken northern Chinese, it seems many people only slightly pronounce the “x” of, say, “xiache” 下车. “Ch”, “sh” and other sounds are often slurred through. “Bu zhi dao” is usually “bu'erdao”…etc. In southern China, the “sh” is often changed to “s” and the “zh” to “z"...etc.