Chinese-Forums

Where should my parents stay in Beijing?

ChTTay

I am new to Beijing and don't really know it well at all. My parents are planning on coming next year and they are trying to find a 4 or 5 star hotel that has a good location - close-ish to the main sights and near to a subway station. However, they can't seem to find one. Most of them seem to be near the Airport or Hadian district.

I had a quick search but every hotel advertises a good location but few actually seem to have one.

Can anyone make any recommendations for the hotel (you don't have to have stayed there) or even the area?

Thanks for your help!

I have stayed in Westin Chaoyang (very close to a subway stop which is on the airport line IIRC), and the Howard Johnson close to the main railway station IIRC. Westin was great (I booked it via hotelclub at extremely low price like RMB400/nt). Howard Johnson was so-so but ok. Perhaps you could consider them.

I have also stayed in the Shangri-la. It is a fantastic hotel, but it is just too far from the city centre.

Red Capital Residence is certainly "very unique" if you pardon the solecism.

http://www.timeoutbeijing.com/venue/Hotels-Boutique/10242/Red-Capital-Residence.html

Another historic one here:

www.ywcagardenhotel.com.cn

Some more ideas here:

http://www.timeoutbeijing.com/features/Hotels/10948/Beijings-top-hotels.html

Dave Eggars stayed at The Opposite House when he came to Beijing. That is what is known as a 'boutique' hotel so full of design inspiration.

Hotel G is nice and offers a popular bar plus well-known sushi restaurant.

I think you should narrow it down by choosing one of these options:

- upmarket western style hotel

- something in a hutong or at least that looks like a traditional courtyard house

- something with a historical USP

- a fancy boutique hotel