Chinese-Forums

Z visas and refusal

joshuawbb

I've done quite a lot of looking-into regarding this topic, but there are some things I don't yet fully understand about the process for getting a Z visa; perhaps someone can help open my eyes a bit more? A bit of background first I'm afraid.

I've been studying at Xiamen University since 2009 on residence permits from X visas, studying a BA degree, and will graduate next year. In the middle of this is the relationship between my Chinese girlfriend and I, whom I've been together with since before I came to China and then met up with here in Xiamen. The issue of what happens after I graduate has always been key; my plan is to find work here in China for at least a year while we plan our next steps, and regarding getting a Z visa I'm already entirely clear about the requirements and application. As it stands, we both endeavour to try the best we can to make everything work out as it's not financially feasible to immediately bring my girlfriend to the UK.

Anyway, upon graduation we both plan to go job-hunting in Shenzhen since her Hukou belongs there and we both feel Xiamen is becoming more financially stressful every year for young graduates. I only have a few points to ask:

- I'm clear on the requirement for post-graduate work experience, so I suppose I can't be certain how likely a Z visa application may be. This aside, in case of a refusal for a non-malicious reason such as lack of work experience, from where does the refusal actually come? Does it come from the Chinese embassy in one's own home country after initial application? Or is a refusal also possible by the city's PSB, during residence permit application after entering China on said Z visa, resulting in cancellation and an exit visa?