Chinese-Forums

Does language "speak" in Chinese?

Sibutlasi

As far as I know (but I am a beginner), “shuo1” must take a human subject playing the Agent role, as in a1-2):

a1). ni3 shuo1 shen2me?

a2). ta1 shuo1 ta1 shi4 zhong1guo2ren2

In b), however, accepted as correct, there seems to be no human subject to discharge the role of agent of “shuo1”.

b). zhe4 ge4 dong1xi1 zhong1wen2 zen3me shuo1?

What seems to be playing the subject role in b) is “zhong1wen2”, so that, as far as I can tell, a word-by-word translation of sentence b) into English is “This [thing] Chinese how says?” [or, in idiomatic English = How does Chinese say this (thing)?].

Indeed, in some languages it is possible to construe the language itself, not only its users, as “speaking” (recall Heidegger’s dictum: “Die Sprache spricht, nicht der Mensch”), a figurative use (“prosopopeia” = personification). Is Chinese one of such languages? Do Chinese speakers feel b) as a "figurative" use of language or not?

I wrote “seems to be” above (instead of “is”) because, under certain theories of language, sentence b) could be reconciled with the rules of grammar without invoking personification: “shuo1” might be claimed to have a hidden impersonal human subject and Agent (an unpronounced pronominal “pro” roughly equivalent to “one”, “you”, “people”,…). In that case, however, “zhong1wen2” would have to be interpreted as a figurative place modifier (= “in Chinese”) and some more hidden structure would have to be assumed (an unpronounced preposition similar to “in”, perhaps “yong4”). Those are the two analyses that seem to me possible; perhaps there are others…. Are there?