Chinese-Forums

Teaching Chinese in the US

wongkyken

• New Members

Dear all,

I've moved to the US (New York) from Hong Kong just recently. I've been an English teacher in Hong Kong. But, it seems very unlikely to find a job teaching English here in the US. In the mean time, I'm thinking of teaching Chinese in high school/college instead. I've obtained Grade B Level 1 in the Putonghua Shuiping Ceshi in Hong Kong. My questions are:

1) Shall I go for a MA in Chinese? If yes, which college and which program should I go to?

2) How competitive is it getting a job teaching Chinese in high school/college?

3) What else should I do?

Thank you very much!

Best wishes,

Ken

Contact the Department of Education in New York first. For high school you only need a bachelor degree and a teaching certificate, you may have to take exams showing you are able to read, write, and speak Mandarin Chinese. Those exams are usually provided by the ACTFL. For college you may need a masters degree. As for how competitive the job market is, if you can go anywhere in New York maybe not so competitive. You should join the New York chapter of CLTA and network in there.

• Like 3