Chinese-Forums

Zhuyin saved my life, but...

iMeng@Meng

I am learning zhuyin now to help me in my character pronunciations, but do and can chinese people read or use it?

And do you use it? Does it help you also?

EDIT: Btw I am studying Simp Chinese and I know pinyin very well but I have studied japanese and found the hiragana made it easier to remember some kanji, that is why I am curious about Zhuyin even though its used in taiwanese only.

It seems to be used in Taiwan obviously? Most mainlanders don't know it. I remember one time when I was at karaoke with some mainlander friends and the song started having parts in zhuyin they had to ask me how to read it.

As for whether it is helpful or not, this is subjective. There is nothing wrong with pinyin at all; it is a perfectly fine system that if you learn it properly, you will know how to pronounce everything. The problem is that not everyone learns it properly and just reads the syllables with influence from their native language's pronunciation. The fact that pinyin has some "shortcuts" and reuses the same letter for different sounds depending on their position adds to the confusion. (for ex: xue is pronounced xüeㄒㄩㄝ, not ㄒㄨㄝ and 餓 is pronounced ㄜ, not ㄝ) If you learn pinyin properly though, these should not confuse you at all.

Personally, I do think learning Zhuyin helped me organize the rimes in my head, because then you know exactly how things are pronounced. I didn't learn Zhuyin for this reason, but simple interest only though.

I don't think it is necessary to learn Zhuyin to learn the rimes properly; you can do that with pinyin too; just get a full Chinese rime table in pinyin and get your friend to read it out for you. I mean, Zhuyin is cool, but if you don't have a focus on TW and don't care about Zhuyin itself, there is no need to put yourself through the trouble to learn it just to learn the rimes.