Chinese-Forums

Doing an internship on a F visa

simplet

Hey everyone today I have a slight variation on the very tired "Should I work on a so-and-so visa".

I was planning to do an internship in China in a very serious language school called L'Alliance française (french alliance). I'm studying in a master to become a french teacher for foreign students, so everthing should have been just dandy except for the fact that my university absolutely refuses to sign an internship agreement with me and the school before I am in the second year of my master. Therefore it seems impossible for the school to get the right visa for me.

What I thought I might do, is register for a chinese course in one of the schools in Hangzhou (this is where I'm supposed to do my internship), get a F visa, and then do my internship on this visa. The internship is only 4 months, and I'm being paid just enough to survive without losing too much money (200 euros/ month). Let's imagine that the school doesn't tell anyone I'm being paid or find some way to pay me in euros at the end of my trip, and that I'm only going to be teaching 8 to 15 hours a week during this internship, is this arrangement very dangerous? Is it very very illegal or just stretching the boundaries of legality?

Will "a very serious language school called L'Alliance française" help you skirt the law? I was under the impression that being paid during an internship was just plainly illegal in China. (Even though it is not always enforced).

Have you actually asked them whether they really need your university to sign an internship agreement to get a lawful visa?

In France, for an internship to be legal, you need a formal 3-party internship agreement between the school/university, the employer, and the intern.

However it may very well be different in other countries. So I don't know about China. Perhaps you can do a legal (thus probably unpaid) internship without such a formal agreement.