Chinese-Forums

Getting rid of bad habits and learning new material

Pengyou

I came to China in 1998, expecting to be here 2 or 3 years...and, like Gilligan's Island, I just can't seem to get off of this "island" :) I studied Chinese for two years in 2005 using the Chinese Made Easier text books and reached an advanced intermediate level in oral Chinese on the school's assessment system (for whatever that is worth) but I never gave reading much thought. Even though I have forgotten some vocab and sentence structures, I speak Chinese very fluidly now, to the point where Chinese people think that I can understand everything they are saying! I would like to resume my studies to get rid of my errors, push my oral Chinese to an advanced level and learn how to read. I love to read and think that being able to read Chinese would help me maintain my vocab, even if I am not using it every day. I also want to prepare for the HSK so that if/when I return home I will be qualified to teach Chinese - I am a licensed teacher in the U.S.

I have checked with a couple of local schools in Shenzhen but none of them seem to know what to do with someone in my situation. They all want to take me back almost to the beginning using the textbooks that they usually use for their students who are learning from scratch. I do not mind doing elementary things but this seems like a waste of time.

I am looking into the graduated readers that have been mentioned in the past. I googled on various words....seems like a lot of stuff out there, some of it is probably good - maybe most of it is, but am not sure it is the best for me. I am looking for help to make a roadmap for the next three years. I have a qq and weixing account. I am willing to watch the same tv program over and over again to help me learn - I am not afraid of doing repititious things as long as I feel that they are leading me somewhere.

• Like 1