Chinese-Forums

Work/Student/Tourist visa?

endrehk

• New Members

Hey!

First, sorry if similar questions have been answered already. I had a quick look, but couldn't find any posts answering all these questions.

I am third year student, graduating from a British university in June. I am 25 years old and I have a few years of work experience before I started university. I am also currently doing a 120-hour TEFL course online, which I should finish sometime this summer. So far, so good!

My problem is that my girlfriend is going to China (Beijing) on her year abroad. As I've always wanted to learn Mandarin myself, I thought it would be a good idea to join her, and I applied to Beihang University. However, I don't have a lot of money and I will have to work if I am to survive a year in China. Many have told me that this is no problem, and that there will be plenty of teaching/tutoring jobs I can get when I arrive. Unfortunately, the rules seem to have changed and while the jobs might be there, I will not be allowed to get one :( Again ,people have told me not to worry as I can go on a tourist or student visa and simply change it when I get a job. This will involve going to Japan/Korea in the meantime. And again, the rules seem to have changed: now I have to go back to my home country to change my visa. I called the embassy, but they could not answer the question. Apparently it is up the local police department to decide...

So what should I do? I know I could apply for a job at a language school, get them to sort my visa and everything would be fine! Except, I am not a native English speaker, and the majority of language schools will only sort out visas for applicants from English speaking countries. I am sure there are exceptions to this, but I might not find one until I am already in China. And at that point, who would be willing to send me home to Norway just to sort my visa and hire me?