Chinese-Forums

study time

jimba_the_hut

I have just taken on the daunting task of commencing Mandarin studies and all my lecturers, Tuts etc have said, although learning is not difficult it is HARD WORK.

On this thought can you guys let me know how often you study and for how long, ie, everynight for two hours etc..?!? The reason being, I will be going to Beijing Uni next year and I want to be able to be able to have basic conversation at least.

Cheers.

:help

I'm self-taught and my Mandarin is not perfect, so maybe someone else can give you a better answer. Nonetheless, I study about 1-3 hours a day on average. Sometimes I'll study even eight or more hours. But this is balanced off with long periods of laziness and sloth, zoning out and watching a whole season of some stupid American TV series.

Also, with general studying I was lead to belive in the law of diminishig returns. That is, after studying a certain amount you can no longer retain it and it becomes a waste of time. However, in my case with Chinese, it is the opposite. If you only study a bit and retain most of it (say 80%), that's not as good as studying for long periods of time and retaining lesser amounts (40%). Because Chinese, to some degree, is like a series of puzzles, the more info you know, the easier knowing everything else will become, you know? :D

Tuts etc have said, although learning is not difficult it is HARD WORK.

I agree. I don't find Chinese to be that hard, but it will require a huge amount of time for studying and memorization. So, my advice is to learn how to enjoy the studying itself. If you learn to enjoy the process itself of learning characters, listening to tapes, reading books...etc, and don't just see it as a means to an end, then I think you will be successful.

Anyway, good luck! :D The more you can learn before going to Beijing Uni the better, I think!