Chinese-Forums

Can I transfer my X Visa to work-full time and at the same time continue studying?

diste01

Hi everyone,

I am a full-time student on a 2 year Masters course in Shanghai. I took all classes in the first year and in 4-5 weeks that will be it. Next year I just have to write and defend my thesis so I have been looking at work opportunities in the city.

I recently attended the interview and in the end I was asked if I am allowed to work on X visa (full-time). It's a big corporation and they won't be risking any legal issues so this is really important. Their HR department can find out but I would like to get this info for myself.

I have researched some on this and I cannot work on X visa - internship is ok. The company can assist me in getting Z visa, however, will I be able to continue studying on Z visa? I am also on Shanghai Government Scholarship. Ideally I would get the Z visa, start working full-time while writing my thesis.

Has anyone had any experience with it or knows who I could ask? Student Office seems to be of very little help.

Thanks

Pete

You can continue to work on your thesis while working on a Z-visa / residence permit.No problem.

A transfer is more problematic.

A Z-visa is not really a working visa; it is an entry visa which allows you enter China take up authorised employment, but it must be changed within 30 days to a residence permit with the "purpose of residence" being stated as 就业. You may therefore have to leave to apply for the Z-visa. It depends on which way the visa guy's chicken entrails fall that day.

Hey liuzhou,

So what you are saying here is that I should leave the country, get Z visa say in HK then come back and convert it to the residence permit? The company can assist me in that so it's no problem.