Chinese-Forums

Dictionaries for commercial use

nongmin

I'm a software developer and would like to write a really good review program for Chinese characters and words. I am learning them and feel that whats out there could be improved. Once written I would like to make it available for a very nominal fee to help cover the costs of distribution. Since this would be a commercial product I don't think I could use the CEDICT. Does anyone know of a commercial dictionary or database I could buy for this purpose or are there any suggestions?

Would you mind giving me an example of the commercial software that uses the CEDICT? By a review program I mean something that helps you review characters and words a little better than what is out there. The programs I have seen lack interactivity and customizeability (if that is a word). You should be able to choose the characters or words to review from different lists such as by frequency. Then the program should have some sort of scheduled recall so if you go through the list and don't get some right, it should make you review those more and also it should remember it for the next time you review. Most of the card programs, especially the ones on the Internet just show the words and characters and then it doesn't really help you in reviewing them as much as it could, I think you know what I mean, sorry if I'm not explaining myself well enough.

I checked and couldn't find any. The only thing I can think of is that KDIC is a shareware, and several places distribute CEDict-based databases for KDIC. But those are distributed separately. So, I don't know if you can get around the licence if you distribute both.